Skip to content

Yoga…For Dogs

April 9, 2009

Though it may sound like an article you would find in the Onion, it’s actually in the New York Times. Here’s a short description of some of the poses:

Doga combines massage and meditation with gentle stretching for dogs and their human partners. In chaturanga, dogs sit with their front paws in the air while their human partners provide support. In an “upward-paw pose,” or sun salutation, owners lift dogs onto their hind legs. In a resting pose, the person reclines, with legs slightly bent over the dog’s torso, bolster-style, to relieve pressure on the spine

Like many of you, I have a dog. I think the world of him. I do what I can to ensure that he doesn’t feel any type of discomfort, from hunger to boredom. And, of course, he provides me with benefits as well. But the day I feel compelled to spend a morning doing “upward-paw pose” with my pet is the day I start looking for a new hobby.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

